Personal Injury

How to Get Your Los Angeles Car Accident Report

If you would like to obtain a copy of your accident report in Los Angeles, you may do so in multiple ways. The Los Angeles Police Department’s official website recommends obtaining a car accident report by mailing a request. To do so, you must provide specific information, including: The parties involved in the collision, if known; The insurance policy number (if the requestor is an insurance company); A release from an involved party (if the requestor is an attorney); The type of report; The date and location of the accident;  A report number, if known; and The vehicle license plate number.  Crash reports will only be released to parties involved in the accident or their representatives. Additionally, accident reports in Los Angeles may take some time to become available. You should wait a minimum of 45 days before submitting a request for a copy of your crash report. Where Can You Mail Your Request for an LA Car Accident Report? If you wish to request your Los Angeles accident report by mail, you can mail it directly to the Los Angeles Police Department at: Los Angeles Police Department Records and Identification Division Document Processing Unit P.O. Box 30158 Los Angeles, CA 90030 Are There Any Other Ways to Get a Los Angeles Traffic Accident Report? Aside from requesting your accident report by mail, you may also opt to get a copy of your report online. For accidents occurring in Los Angeles, you can use the LexisNexis BuyCrash portal.  How Much Does a Los Angeles Car Accident Report Cost? If you choose to request a copy of your Los Angeles accident report by mail, you must include a check or money order for $18 made payable to the LAPD. Note that the LAPD does not accept cash.  On the other hand, if you elect to obtain a copy of your crash report on LexisNexis, you will need to pay a nominal fee along with a convenience fee. Consult with a California Car Accident Attorney for Help with a Car Accident Report in Los Angeles A Los Angeles car accident report can play a significant role in your claim. You may want to request a copy as soon as it becomes available, but a California car accident lawyer can also take care of this crucial step for you. Your attorney will use your crash report to build your case and help get you the resolution you need. The Saeedian Law Group has been helping injured clients for over a decade. Our firm gives clients the care and attention they need after experiencing an accident. We strive to work quickly and efficiently while getting clients the fairest possible settlement. With our firm, you can expect quality legal representation. We offer free, confidential case evaluations. Contact us today, and let’s discuss how we can help you.

Continue Reading
Personal Injury

How to Get Your Huntington Beach Accident Report

After a car accident, you may want to file a claim against the other driver. If you wish to do so, a car accident report can play a major role and help your case significantly. The Saeedian Law Group is ready to help get your Huntington Beach car accident report and build a strong case for you. How to Get a Copy of a Huntington Beach Accident Report You may obtain a copy of your Huntington Beach accident report in person or online. Accident reports are typically available five business days after a car accident. It is important to note that not just anyone can obtain a copy of an accident report. On the City of Huntington Beach Police Department website, it lists those able to get a copy of a crash report as: Drivers involved in the collision; Registered owners of the vehicles involved; Parents of a minor driver involved; Passengers listed in the report; Insurance companies; Those incurring property damage or civil liability as a result of the accident; and Attorneys representing any of the above. When requesting a Huntington Beach accident report in person, you will need to present a valid form of identification. The Police Department will not process your request without ID.  Where Is the Huntington Beach Police Department Located? The Huntington Beach Police Department is located at 2000 Main Street, Huntington Beach, CA 92648. For general information, you can call the police department at 714-960-8811. Are There Any Other Ways to Get a Huntington Beach Car Accident Report? Aside from requesting your Huntington Beach car accident report in person, you can also obtain a copy online. The City of Huntington Beach Police Department has an online portal for public records requests. You will need to create an account to request your crash report.  How Much Does a Huntington Beach Accident Report Cost? If you request your Huntington Beach crash report in person, there is no convenience fee. However, if you’d like to obtain a copy of your report online, a fee may apply. Fees for car accident reports in California can range from $6-$20. Contact a California Car Accident Lawyer for Help with Your Huntington Beach Traffic Accident Report While you can request a copy of your accident report, it is much easier to have a California car accident attorney do it for you. Your lawyer will obtain a copy of your Huntington Beach accident report and use it to build and strengthen your case.  Since 2009, Saeedian Law Group has been helping injured clients get the justice they seek. Our firm understands the frustrations that come after an accident, and we want to give you the peace of mind you deserve. We take a personalized approach and always strive to make clients feel cared for. Contact us today to schedule your free case evaluation.

Continue Reading
Personal Injury

How to Get Your Riverside Car Accident Report

Police officers play a vital role at every accident scene. They gather information, ask all the right questions, and form educated opinions. All these details are later turned into a car accident report. Your report can help strengthen your case if you wish to pursue a claim.  After an accident, the Saeedian Law Group is ready to help you. How to Get a Copy of a Riverside Accident Report You may obtain a copy of your Riverside car accident report in person at one of their three locations. To request your accident report in person, you will need to provide valid identification, along with information that identifies an involved party that matches a Traffic Collision Report, including the Police Report Number or date of the accident.  It is important to note that accident reports may take some time to become available, typically about 10 business days after the date of the accident. Additionally, only parties involved in the accident or their representatives may request a copy of the police report.  Where Are the Riverside Police Department Locations? If you wish to obtain a copy of your Riverside car accident report, you may do so at any of the three police department locations. Locations include: Magnolia Station: 10540 Magnolia Ave. Riverside, CA 92505 Orange Station: 4102 Orange Street, Riverside, CA 92501 Lincoln Station: 8181 Lincoln Ave, Riverside, CA 92504 Hours of operation at these three locations are 8 AM to 4:30 PM. Are There Any Other Ways to Get a Riverside Car Accident Report? Aside from obtaining a copy of your Riverside crash report in person, you may also request your report by mail or online.  You may mail in a request to any of the three Riverside police stations. Requests must contain some pertinent information that identifies an involved party that matches a report. This information can include: Police report number, Date of accident, Copy of driver’s license, Date of birth, or Authorization to an insurance company. You can also get a copy of your Riverside traffic accident report on LexisNexis BuyCrash.  How Much Does a Riverside Traffic Accident Report Cost? If you go in person to one of the three police stations, there are no fees for a copy of your accident report. Mailing in a request will require a $12 check or money order made out to City of Riverside. Requesting your accident report on LexisNexis will include an additional $10 convenience fee.  Consult with a California Car Accident Attorney for Help with a Riverside Crash Report While you can request a copy on your own, your car accident lawyer can also do it for you while building your case. Accident reports are a major part of your car accident claim. Many times, cases rest on strong evidence, and your car accident report may be one of the strongest pieces. The Saeedian Law Group has had the privilege of helping countless clients for over a decade. Our firm is built on a strong foundation of skill, reliability, and compassion. We’re passionate about helping clients get the best possible outcome for their cases. Contact us today to schedule your free case evaluation.

Continue Reading
Personal Injury

How to Get Your Orange County Accident Report

To obtain a car accident report in Orange County, CA, you must first determine which police department or law enforcement agency filed the report. If your accident occurred within one of the Southern California cities within the County, the city’s police department likely filed the report. Depending on where the crash took place, however, the Orange County Sheriff’s Department (OCSD) might be the governing law enforcement agency. If so, you must request the report directly from the OCSD. How to Get a Copy of an Orange County Car Accident Report To obtain an Orange County accident report, you must contact the Orange County Sheriff’s Department. You must comply with the Department’s report request guidelines before the OCSD will consider providing you with a copy of an Orange County traffic accident report. The process begins with downloading a copy of the Department’s Request Authorization Form Release of Case Information. You must complete and sign the form and then submit it either in person or by fax, email, or U.S. mail. Submit your request via email to reportrequest@ocsheriff.gov. Submit your request via fax at 714-834-5466. To file your request form in person, visit the OCSD’s Records Unit in Santa Ana. To submit your request via U.S. mail, send it to P.O. Box 449, Santa Ana, CA 92702. Where Is the Orange County Sheriff’s Department? The physical address for OCSD’s Records Unit is: 320 N. Flower Street Santa Ana, CA 92703 The mailing address for the Records Unit is: P.O. Box 449 Santa Ana, CA 92702 The OCSD requests that before you visit the Records Unit in person, you call them first, at 714-834-6454, to verify the availability of the report you need. Are There Other Ways to Get Orange County Car Accident Reports? At this time, the OCSD does not offer any alternatives for obtaining OC accident reports. You might encounter websites that claim to provide Orange County accident reports online. However, none of these sites are affiliated with any California law enforcement agency, nor can they provide actual copies of any Orange County, CA traffic report. These sites typically collect your information and share it with third-party legal service providers. How Much Do Orange County Traffic Accident Reports Cost? Currently, the cost for obtaining an Orange County, CA accident report is $0.15 per page. Although some southern California municipalities require a fee for requesting an accident report, the OCSD does not require any fee upon making a request for a car accident report in Orange County. Instead, the Department will assess the fee at the time you pick up your report. Talk to a California Car Accident Attorney Today for Help with Accident Reports in Orange County If you sustained injuries in an Orange County motor vehicle collision, you have many pressing concerns to address. Having a car accident lawyer from the Saeedian Law Group handle your case allows you to focus on your health and recovery, while your attorney handles everything for you—including getting a copy of your accident report. We provide caring and attentive legal representation, fighting to protect your legal rights and maximize your compensation. Contact us now to schedule a no-cost consultation or to request assistance with obtaining traffic accident reports in Orange County, CA.

Continue Reading
Personal Injury

How to Get Your Long Beach Accident Report

If you sustained injuries in a Long Beach car accident that wasn’t your fault, you could be entitled to recover compensation for your injuries and other damages. To pursue a claim, you will need a copy of the accident report. After an accident, call 911 or contact the Long Beach Police Dispatch at 562-435-6711 to have an officer sent to the scene. The responding officer will complete a Long Beach traffic accident report, documenting all the relevant details surrounding the collision. Once you have this information, you can get started on the legal process. You can obtain a copy of your report yourself. However, you might already have enough to worry about, as you fight to recover from your injuries. Another option is to contact a Long Beach car accident lawyer at the Saeedian Law Group. One of our experienced attorneys can handle this task—and all the other aspects of recovering compensation—on your behalf. How to Get a Copy of an Accident Report in Long Beach, California The process for requesting a Long Beach police department accident report is relatively simple. First, download the required form, Application for Release of Traffic Collision Report, from the LBPD website. If you prefer not to download the form, or if you do not have access to the internet or a printer, you can request to have an application form mailed to you by calling 562-570-7381. You can also visit the LBPD headquarters or any substation to request this form. Next, fill out the form completely and sign it to certify that all information is true and correct. Submit the request form, along with the request fee, in person or by mail. LBPD estimates an approximately ten business day turnaround for accident report requests. Where Is the Long Beach Police Department? The physical address of the Long Beach Police Department headquarters is: 400 West Broadway Long Beach, CA 90802 To obtain the locations of LBPD substations, contact the department’s helpline at 562-570-7381. You can also find information about the department’s location by downloading and installing the LBPD app. Are There Other Ways to Get Long Beach Police Accident Reports? Many California cities offer accident report access through online providers, such as LexisNexis BuyCrash (formerly LexisNexis Police Reports). However, you cannot obtain a copy of a Long Beach accident report online, through this or any other website. The only way to obtain a copy of your report is to request it directly from LBPD. Beware of any sites that might suggest otherwise, as these portals often link to third-party legal professionals who pay to obtain access to your information, should you sign up. How Much Does a Long Beach Car Accident Report Cost? The cost for requesting a Long Beach accident report is $23. This fee is not refundable. However, LBPD will provide a report for crime victims without the $23 request fee. You can pay with cash or check if you request your report at the business desk of LBPD headquarters. You can also pay the request fee via check at any LBPD substation or through the mail. Talk to a Long Beach Car Accident Attorney Today for Help with a Long Beach Crash Report In Long Beach and throughout Southern California, the personal injury attorneys of the Saeedian Law Group provide compassionate, personalized legal representation for injury accident victims. In fact, we have recovered millions of dollars in compensation for our clients, through settlements and awards. We understand what you’re going through, and we can help. Contact us today to speak to an experienced car accident attorney or for help with getting a copy of your Long Beach accident report.

Continue Reading
Personal Injury

California Products Liability Statute of Limitations Overview

Every day, product liability rules protect us as consumers. The function of these rules is to ensure that manufacturers of consumer products only sell goods that are safe to use or consume as intended. The intended use of all products is not the same, so different product liability laws apply to different products. For example, the product liability standard that applies to packaged food is not the same as the one that applies to televisions. Regardless of the product, however, California’s product liability statute of limitations governs the amount of time you have to file a legal claim after a product injures you. How Product Liability Rules Protect Consumers No matter the good, if a defect injures a consumer when they use that good as intended by the manufacturer, product liability rules typically hold the manufacturer liable for damages that the defective good causes. If you suffer damage due to a product defect, chances are you are considering legal action to recover damages. After all, why should you bear liability for damage you suffer that is not your fault?  When you plan on taking legal action to recover damages, you always want to keep the relevant statute of limitations in mind. Failing to account for a statute of limitations can doom a legal claim from the start. When considering legal action for product liability, then, you might consider the question, What is the products liability statute of limitations in California? Knowing the answer is crucial to the success of your legal claim. What Is a Statute of Limitations? A statute of limitations is a law that limits the amount of time interested parties have, after a given event, to initiate legal proceedings related to the event. Once the statute of limitations expires in a product liability case, you can no longer file a legal claim. Statutes of limitations play an important role in our legal system. They help to ensure that the basis of all legal decisions is clear evidence. Evidence deteriorates over time and becomes less clear. Thus, the more time passes, the harder it is to assess the facts and evidence as they existed at the time of the event in question. A statute of limitations limits the amount of time that evidence has to deteriorate before someone initiates legal proceedings over a given event.  What Is California’s Product Liability Statute of Limitations? The length of the products liability statute of limitations in California depends on the type of damage a consumer suffers due to the product’s defect. If a consumer product injures someone in California, the statute of limitations set by California’s Code of Civil Procedure is two years from the date of the injury. If someone does not discover an injury right away, the statute of limitations is one year from the date that they discover the injury (but no less than two years from the date of the injury). A separate statute of limitations applies when a defective product causes property damage. In that case, the statute of limitations is three years from the date that the property damage occurs. If both property and personal injury damage occur in the same event, it is important to be aware that both statutes of limitations apply. If you suffer both types of damages and wait two-and-a-half years to initiate legal proceedings, courts will reject your personal injury claim. Are There Exceptions or Extensions to the Product Liability Statute of Limitations in California? California law does have certain extensions or exceptions to its statutes of limitations. With respect to product liability, the number of exceptions is very limited. The main exception to California’s product liability statute of limitations is known as the discovery rule. According to the discovery rule, which we noted earlier, a person who suffers a personal injury due to a defective product and is not aware of the damage right away has one year from the date that they discover the injury to initiate legal proceedings. This sort of thing may happen, for example, with respect to prescription drugs. The damage that defective or dangerous prescription drugs can cause typically does not manifest itself immediately. Sometimes it can take years to discover an injury caused by a prescription drug. Still, a person who suffers personal injury through no fault of their own should not be liable for that damage. With this in mind, the discovery rule exception to the personal injury statute of limitations is essential in upholding the spirit of product liability rules. Do Not Let the Product Liability Statute of Limitations in California Pass You Up The best thing you can do to ensure that California’s product liability statute of limitations does not jeopardize your legal claim is to retain the services of a product liability attorney as soon as possible after an accident.  Sometimes, in an attempt to avoid liability, parties will try to make negotiations take as long as possible. You may inform a manufacturer that their product injured you, and they may respond by asking for proof. Such a situation can turn into a back and forth between you and the manufacturer where every time you submit evidence, they string you along, asking for more or different proof. In another situation, they may accept your evidence but repeatedly give you lowball settlement offers. The idea behind this tactic is to take up as much of a statute of limitations as possible. They hope that it will be too late to initiate legal proceedings by the time you hire a lawyer.  If you immediately hire an attorney, however, you can avoid this. Knowing that you have an attorney on your side and can initiate legal proceedings whenever you need to, the opposing party will take your claim seriously and try to resolve it as soon as they can.  Do You Need to File a California Products Liability Claim? If you are considering filing a product liability claim in California, don’t let the statute of limitations jeopardize your case. Instead, hire an […]

Continue Reading
Personal Injury

California Personal Injury Statute of Limitations Overview

The California personal injury statute of limitations requires injury accident victims to file a civil lawsuit within two years of the date of their injury, in most cases. If you fail to take legal action within the prescribed period, you could lose your right to recover compensation for your damages. Although you might have some options for extending this deadline, you should take legal action as quickly as possible after a car accident or any other type of personal injury. In Los Angeles and throughout California, the experienced personal injury lawyers of the Saeedian Law Group work hard to protect the legal rights of injury accident victims. We help ensure that you don’t miss any critical deadlines, preserving your right to recover compensation for your medical treatment costs, lost income, pain and suffering, and any other damages you incurred. Our attorneys are compassionate and knowledgeable, and we put the full power of our firm’s resources to work for you. Contact us today to learn more about how the CA personal injury statute of limitations might affect your claim. What Is the Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury in California? Every state, including California, legally limits the time during which injury accident victims can pursue legal action. As set forth in the California Code of Civil Procedure, victims must file a lawsuit for personal injury not later than two years after the date of the accident in which the injuries occurred. For medical malpractice, you must file within three years or within one year of having discovered your injury. These limits, which might seem overly restrictive for many injury accident victims, actually serve several important purposes. Statutes of limitations compel injury accident victims to promptly bring their claim forward to be heard by the court. By discouraging delays, the court system can run more efficiently and best serve the interests of the people who want to have their cases heard. More importantly, these legal time limitations provide plaintiffs—in this case, the injury accident victims—with an increased chance of getting the justice and fair compensation they deserve. Over time, witness memories can fade. Evidence can be lost or destroyed. By bringing your case promptly, you have the best chance of a favorable outcome. Defendants also benefit from these laws. Statutes of limitation help ensure that any evidence against them is fresh and relevant. Further, defendants won’t have to worry about facing legal action for events that occurred years in the past. Are There Exceptions to the Personal Injury Statute of Limitations in California? In some cases, you can pause the statute of limitations from running. This practice, known legally as “tolling” the statute, effectively extends your deadline to file a lawsuit in civil court. Some options for tolling the statute are as follows. Delayed Discovery In some cases, personal injury victims sustain injuries that they aren’t aware of. Under the statute of limitations for personal injury in California, you can file your lawsuit within one year of the date you discovered or should have been able to discover a previously unidentified injury. Lack of Majority If a victim has not yet reached the age of 18, known as their majority, the statute of limitations tolls until the victim reaches his or her majority. Lack of Legal Capacity If an accident victim lacks mental competence or capacity, the statute of limitations will not begin to run until or unless the victim becomes legally competent. Absent Defendant If the defendant is out of state or cannot be located, the clock won’t start running until such time (if any) that they return to California. Government Entities Another important exception involves defendants that are government entities. You must notify any government entity of your intent to pursue legal action within six months of the injury accident. Even if you are well within the statutory limitation period, you cannot file a lawsuit against a government entity without having provided this notice. After filing your notice, the governmental entity must respond to your claim within 45 days. If the entity does not respond, or if it denies your claim, you must file a lawsuit within six months. Although these exceptions do exist, it is important that you understand whether they apply to you and, if so, how they might affect your claim. Talking to an experienced personal injury attorney is the best way to protect your legal right to pursue compensation for your economic and non-economic damages. Compelling Reasons to Act Quickly After an Injury Accident Although you might believe that you have ample time to take legal action under the statute of limitation for personal injury in California, it is in your best interest to act as quickly as possible after an injury accident. Pursuing a personal injury claim can be a complex and time-consuming process. In most cases, your attorney will pursue a claim with the at-fault party’s insurance company first. Negotiating a settlement gets a check in your hand more quickly than filing a lawsuit and taking your case to court. However, if the insurance company won’t settle, you might already be well into the timeframe established in the statute of limitations. Contacting an attorney immediately after a California car accident, dog bite, slip and fall, or another type of personal injury helps your lawyer build the strongest possible case for you. Investigators will have the ability to interview witnesses while their memories are fresh and gather evidence before it deteriorates or is destroyed. Seeking Help from a Personal Injury Attorney in Los Angeles In LA and throughout southern California, the personal injury attorneys of the Saeedian Law Group provide aggressive, compassionate legal representation to injury accident victims. Our experienced litigators have helped thousands of clients to date, recovering millions of dollars in settlements and verdicts. Don’t take chances with your future. Call 310-288-3000 now or contact us online to learn more about how your case might be affected by the statute of limitations for California personal injury.

Continue Reading
Personal Injury

Will a Car Accident Settlement Cover My Chiropractic Treatment?

Medical experts often recommend going to a chiropractor after a car accident. This is especially true if an injury accident victim has (or suspects) spine or neck injuries, nerve damage, or other injury to the musculoskeletal system. Chiropractic care is a proven, non-surgical treatment approach that can benefit injury victims of all types. Chiropractors help injury victims recover from serious injuries without invasive surgeries or potentially addictive pain medications. Unfortunately, injury accident victims often lack the financial resources to pay for these effective but potentially costly treatments. The good news is that in most cases, Los Angeles car accident settlements do cover the cost of chiropractic medicine and related therapeutic treatments.  Being the victim of a car accident can leave you with myriad questions and concerns. To get the information and answers you need to take the next step, talk to a Los Angeles car injury attorney at the Saeedian Law Group.  What Can a Chiropractor Do for a Car Accident Victim? More than 22 million Americans seek chiropractic care each year in the U.S. This treatment approach combines manual manipulation of the joints with a variety of physical therapies and other treatments. The goals of chiropractic care are to reduce pain, increase strength, and restore function and range of motion. The treatment plan recommended for you will depend on the type of injuries you suffered in the accident. When you go for your first appointment, your chiropractor will evaluate you thoroughly, typically taking x-rays and performing a comprehensive exam. The doctor will take down your medical history and ask you a variety of questions to determine what type of symptoms you may be suffering. Your chiropractor will then perform manual adjustments as necessary, which is often followed by one or more therapeutic treatments. Some of the most common therapies include ultrasound, stretching, spinal traction, and manual therapy of soft tissue. Most patients leave their appointment with a noticeable and lasting drop in discomfort. Over time (often just a few weeks), chiropractic treatment can help patients recover from painful car accident injuries. Should I Go to the Chiropractor After a Car Accident? After a serious motor vehicle collision, the most important consideration is your safety and the safety of others who were involved.  It’s a good idea to get checked out by EMTs at the scene of the accident. If no emergency medical technicians were there, go directly to the emergency room, urgent care, or another qualified medical treatment provider for evaluation, even if you don’t believe you were seriously injured. This helps ensure that you do not have any undetected internal damage or other injuries that require treatment from a medical doctor. Getting seen by a doctor immediately also provides critical medical records that your lawyer will need when building a case for you. Next, you need to schedule an appointment with a chiropractor. Waiting until you start experiencing neck or back pain could potentially worsen any soft tissue damage you sustained. Delaying treatment could also potentially weaken your legal claim. The insurance company could assert that since you didn’t seek chiropractic care immediately, you obviously weren’t hurt that badly.  Although chiropractic treatment is safe for most accident victims, it is always a good idea to clear any type of accident injury treatment with your primary treatment provider. This is especially important if you have preexisting spinal injuries such as a slipped or herniated disc, osteoporosis, or other issues with the musculoskeletal system. If you do not know any treatment providers or chiropractors, contact a car accident attorney from the Saeedian Law Group. We may be able to refer you to highly qualified treatment providers in your area who are willing to wait for payment until your case is settled. Can I Get a Car Accident Chiropractor Settlement? If your accident was caused by someone else, the at-fault party is liable for your physical, emotional, and financial damages. If your injuries require treatment from a chiropractor, you should be able to include those costs in your settlement demand to the insurance company. In addition to chiropractic care, you could be entitled to recover compensation for other medical treatment and care, lost income and benefits, emotional trauma, and other damages you sustained. Whether you will need to see a chiropractor after a car accident settlement will depend on how your recovery is progressing and what your chiropractic doctor recommends for your optimal health. If you will require ongoing treatment, your attorney may include the estimated cost of future treatment in your settlement amount. Do Personal Injury Settlements Pay for Chiropractic Care? The best way to determine whether you can recover compensation for a chiropractor car accident claim is to speak with a qualified attorney. An experienced personal injury lawyer understands how to build the strongest possible case. Your attorney may have to prove that your injuries required chiropractic care. Look for a law firm that has a wealth of resources that it can put to work for you. Your lawyer may need to call on a medical expert to provide a statement or to testify regarding your need for comprehensive chiropractic care. Talk to a Car Accident Attorney in Los Angeles Today for Help In California, the personal injury attorneys of the Saeedian Law Group provide compassionate legal representation for victims of car accidents and other personal injuries. We have a wide variety of resources that we put to work for you, helping you get the best possible outcome for your case. If you would like to discuss the benefits of seeing a chiropractor after an accident, talk to one of our LA car accident lawyers today. We offer a free consultation, and we never charge any legal fees until we settle your claim. For your safety and convenience, we offer telephone and video consultations, as well as in-person consultations at your location or one of our five California offices. Contact us now to learn more about the possibility of a car accident chiropractor settlement.

Continue Reading
Wrongful Death

California Wrongful Death Statute of Limitations Overview

The California wrongful death statute of limitations places significant constraints on how long family members have to take legal action after the death of a loved one. In most cases, you have only two years from the victim’s death to file a civil lawsuit. As it concerns wrongful death, the California statute of limitations is complex and potentially confusing. If you lost a loved one in an injury accident caused by someone else, trying to interpret these laws and determine how they apply to you is the last thing you need to deal with. Let the experienced California wrongful death lawyers of the Saeedian Law Group help you through this challenging time. We understand the fear and uncertainty you’re experiencing. Our compassionate legal team can provide the support you need right now. We fight to get justice and fair financial compensation for the families of wrongful death victims in Los Angeles and throughout southern California. We offer a free consultation and case analysis, so you can determine the best course of action for you and your family. Contact us now to learn more. What Is the Statute of Limitations for Wrongful Death in California? Under the California statute of limitation for wrongful death, you have only two years from the date of the victim’s death to file a lawsuit in civil court. If you do not take action within this timeframe, you could lose your legal right to recover compensation for the loss of your loved one. In California, the two-year limitations period does not apply to every wrongful death case, however. In some cases, this timeframe can be shorter. What Are the Exceptions to the California Wrongful Death Statute of Limitations? The two-year statutory time constraint does not apply in every wrongful death case. If your loved one’s death was caused by a governmental entity, you must provide official notification of your intent to sue within six months of the injury. The governmental entity then has 45 days to respond to your notification. If they deny your claim or fail to respond, you can then file your legal claim. These exceptions can be highly confusing for the victim’s family members. Talking to an experienced wrongful death attorney is the best way to determine how these laws might apply to your case. Can You Extend the CA Wrongful Death Statute of Limitations? In some instances, you may have the ability to “toll” (pause the clock) on the California wrongful death statute of limitations. If a minor seeks to bring a wrongful death action after losing a parent, they must do so within two years of their 18th birthday. This means that if the minor was ten years old at the time of the parent’s death, he or she has ten years to file a lawsuit. If family members had no reasonable means to have known about the victim’s death, they may toll the statute of limitations to the date that the victim’s death was (or should have been) discovered. Other exceptions to the statute of limitations may exist. It is critical to determine whether they apply to your case and how they might affect your timeline for filing a lawsuit. Talking to an experienced wrongful death attorney will help protect your legal rights to compensation for your damages. In most cases, victims’ families are best served by starting the legal claims process as quickly as possible. This ensures that your attorney and legal team can investigate the circumstances of the victim’s death while evidence remains fresh and untainted.  Seeking Help from a Personal Injury Attorney in Los Angeles As frightening and overwhelming as your situation is right now, you don’t have to fight this battle alone. At the Saeedian Law Group, our experienced trial lawyers and compassionate legal team are here to help you through your time of need. You could be entitled to recover compensation for the victim’s medical bills as well as funeral and burial costs. You could also be eligible to pursue a legal claim for lost financial and household support, lost inheritance, lost care and companionship, and emotional trauma. When you trust us to handle your wrongful death claim, we immediately begin investigating the circumstances of your loved one’s injuries and death. We build the strongest possible case and submit a demand to the at-fault party’s insurance company. We negotiate with the insurance company to get you the best possible settlement for your damages. If the insurance company does not make an acceptable settlement offer, we will be prepared to file a lawsuit and fight for you in court. We offer a free consultation and case evaluation. We can come to your location, meet you in one of our five southern California office locations, or facilitate a consultation via phone or video conference. Call 310-288-3000 now or contact us online for help with a wrongful death claim or to get answers to your questions about the wrongful death statute of limitations in California.

Continue Reading
Personal Injury

Filing a Lost Time Claim After an Injury or Accident

If you’ve suffered an injury due to an accident, one of your biggest concerns likely relates to the lost time after your accident. When you suffer a loss of time working due to your injury, your earning capacity is greatly diminished. However, this inability to work does not eliminate your mounting medical expenses and other financial burdens. If you’ve sustained injuries due to a lost time incident, you may be able to recover compensation for the period you were unable to work.   What Is a Lost Time Accident?  A loss of time injury simply refers to the amount of time you could have worked but were unable to due to your injury. Also referred to as lost wages, this is the money you could have earned from your employer from the date of your injury to the date of settlement or judgment for your injuries. Additionally, you may have been able to work in a diminished capacity, such as shorter hours, and subsequently earned less than you would have without your loss of time injury.  To recover damages for a lost time claim, your injuries must be caused by your accident. Evidence of Lost Time After an Accident  Evidence proving your lost time after an accident requires careful record-keeping or your past earnings and earnings after suffering your lost time injury.  Pay Stubs and Tax Returns  If, before your accident, you enjoyed regular employment, the easiest way to prove lost wages is through evidence of pay stubs and tax returns.  As a general rule, it’s best to retain your pay stubs for at least one year and until you receive your W-2 from your employer. However, don’t worry if you failed to keep all of your pay stubs. In this situation, after filing your personal injury claim, your personal injury attorney may obtain copies of your past pay stubs through the discovery process.    Letter from Employer Additionally, you may request a letter from your employer outlining the amount of time you were unable to work after your accident. A letter from your employer would provide the following information:  Your job title;  The date you were hired;  Confirmation that you were working for the employer at the time of your accident; The number of hours you worked before the accident; Your rate of pay;  Your overtime pay rate; The loss of time, such as the number of days or hours of work missed due to your injury;  If you used sick or vacation time for missed work due to your injury; Any expectation of unearned overtime pay due to the injury; and  Any perks or benefits you missed due to your injury. This type of letter serves as strong evidence to support your claim for loss of time after an accident.  Other Lost Benefits Other lost benefits you may have missed earning due to your lost time injury include commissions, bonuses, and overtime pay. Although this type of income is generally very speculative and dependent on several factors, certain evidence may be presented to support this lost time after your accident. This type of evidence includes:  Pay stubs reflecting earnings of overtime pay or bonuses;  An employment contract from your employer;  Company policy or handbook for overtime pay, bonuses, and commission earnings;  A letter from your employer providing overtime pay, bonuses, or commissions you would have earned but for your lost time injury; and  Proof that you would have qualified for overtime pay, bonuses, or commissions if your lost time injury had not occurred.  Your personal injury attorney works with you to obtain this type of evidence in support of your lost time claim.  What if I’m Self-Employed? You may be concerned if you are one of the 2.2 million self-employed workers in California. How do you obtain a letter from your employer if you are your own employer? You may use similar documentation that an employer would provide. For example, the following evidence of lost time worked supports your accident claim:  Your tax returns from prior years; and  Billing statements before your injury. In some situations, your personal injury attorney may advise hiring a forensic accountant to analyze your financial records. A forensic accountant works with your lawyer to ensure all the necessary data is considered in your case enabling you to recover lost earnings after filing your lost time claim.  Contact Us Since 2009, The Saeedian Law Group has helped individuals seek financial recovery after an accident. We understand that each of our clients is unique and that your case requires our careful analysis. We know the financial burden you may be experiencing and work diligently to provide effective and reliable solutions to your legal matters. You may access your attorney throughout every stage of your lost time claim process and ensure you understand your legal rights through every point in your legal process. Contact us today for a free consultation and to learn how we can help you! 

Continue Reading